X-Ray Run
The Secrets of Movement

A cat jumps onto the laboratory bench – shown in super slow motion and through the animal’s skin and fur the movement of every single bone is visible. This spectacular footage is the result of a research project that’s unique in the world. Using a high-speed x-ray camera, the zoologists, doctors and biomechanics in Professor Martin Fischer’s team at the University of Jena are tracking down the secrets of running. The list of animals subjected to this more than skin-deep examination includes iguanas, birds, rats and even sloths – always with one big question in mind: how have the mechanics of movement developed from the first land animals 300 million years ago to the atrophied mobility of today’s office workers?

The film tells the fascinating story of how Martin Fischer’s team of scientists are cutting swathes through one research field after another. The new findings of the Jena biologists are in great demand. Sports medicine practitioners, veterinarians, robot researchers and even the American armed forces are all keenly interested.
for MDR, in collaboration with Arte
Written and directed by: Daniel Münter // Camera: Sven Kiesche // Sound: Ilhan Coskun // Film editor: Maximilian Dederichs // Sound mix: Alexander Weuffen // Production assistant: Katja Sträter // Production manager: Oliver Gontram // Executive producer: Thomas Weidenbach // Commissioning editor MDR: Hendrik Wenner // Produced by LÄNGENGRAD Filmproduktion GmbH

Lenght: 52 Min, in HD

Broadcast date:

Inseln der Zukunft - El Hierro

28.08.2017 | 16:00 | arte

Inseln der Zukunft - Orkney

29.08.2017 | 16:00 | arte

Inseln der Zukunft - Madeira

30.08.2017 | 16:00 | arte

Inseln der Zukunft - Sams°

31.08.2017 | 16:00 | arte

Inseln der Zukunft - Island

01.09.2017 | 16:00 | arte

X-Ray Run
Das Geheimnis des Laufens

Eine Katze springt auf den Labortisch - eben noch zeigt sie die Kamera in Superzeitlupe, im nächsten Moment wird durch Fell und Haut hindurch die Bewegung jedes einzelnen Knochens sichtbar. Diese spektakulären Aufnahmen sind das Ergebnis eines weltweit einmaligen Forschungsprojekts: Mit einer Hochgeschwindigkeits-Röntgenanlage sind die Zoologen, Mediziner und Biomechaniker um Professor Martin Fischer von der Universität Jena den Geheimnissen des Laufens auf der Spur. Von Leguanen über Vögel bis zu Ratten und sogar Faultieren reicht die Liste der Tiere, denen die Wissenschaftler unter die Haut geschaut haben - immer mit der einen großen Frage im Sinn: Wie hat sich die Mechanik des Laufens entwickelt, von den ersten Landtieren vor 300 Millionen Jahren bis zur verkümmerten Beweglichkeit des modernen Büromenschen heute?

Der Film erzählt die faszinierende Geschichte, wie die Wissenschaftler um Martin Fischer ein Forschungsfeld nach dem anderen erobern. Ihre neuen Erkenntnisse werden den Biologen aus Jena geradezu aus den Händen gerissen. Sportmediziner, Tierärzte, Roboterforscher und sogar das US-amerikanische Militär sind brennend daran interessiert.

im Auftrag des MDR, in Zusammenarbeit mit Arte
Buch und Regie: Daniel Münter // Kamera: Sven Kiesche // Ton: Ilhan Coskun // Schnitt: Maximilian Dederichs // Tonmischung: Alexander Weuffen // Produktionsassistenz: Katja Sträter // Herstellungsleitung: Oliver Gontram // Produzent: Thomas Weidenbach // Redaktion: Hendrik Wenner // Eine Produktion der LÄNGENGRAD Filmproduktion GmbH

Länge: 52 Min, in HD

Aktuelle Sendetermine
unserer Produktionen:

Krebs: Das Geschäft mit der Angst

24.08.2016 | 11:00 | EinsPlus

Krebs: Das Geschäft mit der Angst

25.08.2016 | 08:00 | EinsPlus

OP gelungen - Patient tot

01.09.2016 | 22:00 | SWR

OP gelungen - Patient tot

16.09.2016 | 20:15 | 3SAT